OPC-Thames Valley OPC-Thames Valley OPC-Thames Valley OPC-Thames Valley OPC-Thames Valley

A.J. Baker
Stringer Public School
Strathroy S.S.
Central Senior Public School
Stoney Creek P.S.
WS Fox
Strathroy Secondary
Bonaventure Public School

Thames Valley's OPC History
On January 1, 1998 the four schools boards that had served the Counties of Elgin, Middlesex, Oxford and City of London were amalgamated into the new Thames Valley District School Board. The long-standing principals and vice principal associations in each of the predecessor Boards agreed to amalgamate; however, the secondary and elementary members continued to be represented by separate organizations. In November 1997, the Ontario government announced that it would remove principals and vice principals from the teacher federations. While most secondary administrators chose OPC, a number of provincial groups were competing for the support of elementary principals and vice principals. In December, the organization representing the Thames Valley elementary principals and vice principals recommended that its individual members take out membership in the new OPC because of its stated commitment to build a single organization for all principals and vice principals. By June of 1999, almost all elementary and secondary principals and vice principals in Thames Valley schools were OPC members.

The functions of the former association representing elementary administrators have been entirely absorbed by OPC Thames Valley. A secondary school administrators' association which has strong links with OPC Thames Valley still exists to look after secondary operational matters. For the elementary panel, an OPC standing committee consisting of representatives from each superintendency serves the same purpose.

At the provincial level, Thames Valley principals and vice principals have been instrumental in laying the foundation for a strong OPC. Many are charter members of the provincial organization.
Henry Mick served as a member of the founding OPC Executive. Joanne Robinson was the second OPC President and continues as OPC's Director of Professional Learning. Martha Foster served as President during the 2001 - 2002 school year.
Doug Acton served as OPC President, for a one year term in 2005-2006
Henry Mick, also served as a Provincial Vice President for the 2006 - 2007 school year and more recently, Richard Pincombe served as Provincial Vice President in 2010-2011.

     OPC's History
     Our Constitution

OPC Thames Valley
Past Presidents

  • 1999 - 2000 Henry Mick
  • 2000 - 2001 Leo Hutchinson
  • 2001 - 2002 Becky Howse
  • 2002 - 2003 Nick Karalis
  • 2003 - 2004 Laurie Lewis
  • 2004 - 2005 David Ennis
  • 2005 - 2006 MaryEllen Smith
  • 2006 - 2007 John Clements
  • 2007 - 2008 Grant McCumber
  • 2008 - 2009 Karen Edgar
  • 2009 - 2010 Richard Pincombe
  • 2010 - 2011 Dave Westaway
  • 2011 - 2012 Paul Sydor
  • 2012 - 2013 Barb Lawson
  • 2013 - 2014 Paul Panayi
  • 2014 - 2015 Jason Pratt